clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Henrik Lundqvist is the Rangers’ nominee for the Masterton

Lundqvist gets the nod for his dedication to hockey

New York Rangers v Detroit Red Wings Photo by Dave Sandford/NHLI via Getty Images

New York Rangers franchise icon Henrik Lundqvist, 38, is the team’s nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2019-20 season. Last season, Brendan Smith was the Rangers’ nominee for the award. The last Ranger to be awarded the Masterton was Dominic Moore, who received the trophy in 2014.

Each year, the Masterton is given to the player who “best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication” to the game. A player from each team is nominated by the local chapter of the PHWA (Professional Hockey Writers’ Association).

In his 15th season with the Rangers, Lundqvist posted a record of 10-12-3, a .905 save percentage, and earned his 450th career win. Lundqvist started in 26 games in 2019-20, down from 52 starts in 2018-19 and 61 starts in 2017-18. He is second among active goaltenders in wins (459) — behind only Marc-Andre Fleury (466) — and is the active leader in career saves with 23,509.

Former Rangers prospect Ryan Graves is the Colorado Avalanche’s nominee for the Masterton this year. The Rangers selected Graves with the 110th overall pick of the 2013 Draft and traded him to the Avalanche on Feb. 16, 2018 in exchange for fellow defenseman Chris Bigras.

Data courtesy of