clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AHL Announces 28 teams to participate in upcoming season

The AHL has to shuffle things around as they get set to begin the 2020-21 season

Hartford Wolfpack v Laval Rocket Photo by Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images

After previously announcing the framework to start the 2020-21 season on February 4th last week, the AHL announced new, critical details about which teams will participate in the upcoming season and where they will be playing.

There are 28 teams that will play in the AHL next season with the Charlotte Checkers, Milwaukee Admirals, and Springfield Thunderbirds all electing to not participate in the upcoming season. Some teams are also temporarily relocating to make things a bit easier logistically, as the Binghamton Devils will move to Newark, the Providence Bruins will head to Marlborough, Massachusettes, The Ontario Reign will call El Segundo, California home, and, finally, the San Diego Gulls will play in Irvine, California. These moves are for just this season, as are the new divisions.

While the details behind scheduling still have to be announced, it is a decent bet that the Hartford Wolf Pack will being seeing a lot of their in-state rival Bridgeport Sound Tigers, much in the same way that the Rangers and Islanders will be seeing a lot more of each other this season.