Adam Fox wins the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award

New York Rangers defenseman Adam Fox is the recipient of the 2021 Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award. The award, which has been given annually since the 1987-88 season is given annually to the Ranger who, as chosen by the fans, “goes above and beyond the call of duty.”

Fox is the first defenseman to win the award since the 1996-97 season when, fittingly enough, Brian Leetch was singled out by the fans as the Ranger who gave the most to his team.

Before puck drop of tonight’s game against the New York Islanders, Fox is averaging 24:37 TOI/GP and leads all defensemen in scoring with 47 points in 49 games. Fox is a favorite for the Norris Trophy this season, which is awarded annually to the league’s best defenseman. He would be the fourth defenseman in franchise history to win the award and the first since — yes, you guessed it — Brian Leetch, who won the award twice (1992, 1997).

Past 10 Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award Winners

  • Mika Zibanejad | 2019-20
  • Mika Zibanejad | 2018-19
  • Henrik Lundqvist | 2017-18
  • Mats Zuccarello |2016-17
  • Mats Zuccarello | 2015-16
  • Cam Talbot | 2014-15
  • Mats Zuccarello | 2013-14
  • Ryan Callahan | 2012-13
  • Ryan Callahan | 2011-12
  • Brandon Prust | 2010-11/