New York Rangers Nominate Henrik Lundqvist for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

New York Rangers’ goaltender Henrik Lundqvist was among the 31 nominees for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, which was announced on Monday.

Lundqvist was one of three finalists for the trophy last season, which was won byJason Zucker.

Henrik Lundqvist Named Finalist for King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is presented “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The release goes on to say that:

The winner will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives led by Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner:

* Clear and measurable positive impact on the community

* Investment of time and resources

* Commitment to a particular cause or community

* Commitment to the League’s community initiatives

* Creativity of programming

* Use of influence; engagement of others

The three finalists for the trophy will be released in early August, with the winner being announced during the Conference Finals.

The first-place finisher will receive a $25,000 donation from the National Hockey League Foundation to benefit a charity or charities of his choice, with the two runner ups getting $5,000.

Lundqvist is well known for his charitable efforts through his foundation, and his support of The Garden of Dreams foundation, including a donation he and his wife, Therese, made to the Food Bank of New York City in March.

Henrik and Therese Lundqvist Announce $100,000 Donation to Support Food Bank For New York City

Lundqvist is a more than worthy nominee for the Blueshirts, and it wouldn’t be shocking if he’s a finalist for a second consecutive season. To date, Adam Graves is the only Ranger to win the award, and he did so during the 1993-94 season.