Voting For The Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award Has Opened (Update: now closed)

Perseverance. Wisdom. Compassion. These are just three words that people used when discussing the late Officer Steven McDonald. Through his time on the force as an NYPD detective and even afterwards, Officer McDonald touched countless lives. So much so, that, that the Rangers have had this annual award named after him since the 1987-1988 season, given out to the player who the fans believe went above and beyond the call of duty throughout the course of the season.

As is tradition for the New York Rangers, voting has begun for this year’s recipient of the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award. Various types of players have won the award during history, ranging from Hall of Fame superstars like Mark Messier, Brian Leetch, and Wayne Gretzky, to feisty, energetic grinders like Jed Ortmeyer, Sandy McCarthy, and Matthew Barnaby. Some of the more recent winners include Mats Zuccarello, Cam Talbot, Ryan Callahan, and Brandon Prust

To make your selection, head over to the Rangers official team site and fill out the information to make your voice heard (update: voting is now closed). As per usual, there are a number of viable candidates for this year’s iteration of the award. Should it go to Dan Girardi, who’s fought through multiple injuries since last season and battled back onto the Rangers top pair on a nightly basis.? Perhaps it could go to Henrik Lundqvist, who has only won the award once before, and has had as tough a season as any other Ranger up to this point. Whoever it is, they’ll join a long line of names that will do down in team history as winners of this prestigious award.

Who Should Win the Steve McDonald Extra Effort Award?

Dan Girardi48
Henrik Lundqvist73
Pavel Buchnevich29
Adam Clendening22