clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New York Rangers Announce 2019-20 Team Awards

Artemiy Panarin wins 2019-20 MVP award

2020 NHL Stanley Cup Qualifiers - Player Arrivals Photo by Mark Blinch/NHLI via Getty Images

The Rangers announced Wednesday its annual team awards and, in what is hopeful foreshadowing, Artemiy Panarin’s 95-point debut on Broadway earned the Russian winger the team’s MVP award as voted on by the New York media. Panarin is the first Ranger to win the team’s MVP award in his first season since Mark Messier in 1992. Mika Zibanejad was the only other player to earn a first place vote for the team’s Most Valuable Player award.

Alongside Panarin, Jesper Fast was voted the Players’ Player Award by his teammates for the fifth consecutive season. Quickie is the first Ranger to win the award five times and he’s only the second Ranger to win it five times, joining Jean Ratelle between 1967 and 1971 and then again in 1974-45.

Finally, Chris Kreider was given the John Halligan Good Guy Award, which recognizes “a player for their cooperation with the media throughout the season.” The award is voted on by the members of the PHWA that cover the Rangers throughout the season.

New York Rangers v Montreal Canadiens Photo by Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images